Pixie Dust


Mumbai, India (Part 1)
January 18, 2005, 7:07 am
Filed under: travel | Tags: , , , ,

Traveling here wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Actually, the trip to Zurich from Dallas seemed much shorter than the 9.5 hours it took. I couldn’t sleep on the plane, though. At one point, I dozed off and startled myself awake with the thought that I hadn’t reminded Elvis to not erase Battlestar Galactica from the DVR. Note to self: refer back to New Year’s Resolutions – watch less TV.

I got weepy on the way to the airport again; leaving Elvis is always so difficult for me, even though it’s only a short time away from him. Maybe I just worry that it could be the last time I see him again… or that something could happen to one of us. You never know. But I still feel silly every time I cry at the airport drop off.

So now the adventure has begun. I haven’t seen much of Mumbai yet, as the hotel is right around the corner from the airport. I can say that riding in a car is possibly more frightening here than it was in Beijing. At one point on our 3 minute car ride last night, our driver pushed head-on into opposing traffic to make his way to the hotel driveway. This, of course, was after we narrowly missed several pedestrians on the way.

It’s very smoggy here, reminding me of the haze that Austin gets when the fires in Mexico burn every spring. There’s also a distinct smell to the city that’s a mixture of all kinds of things. But you adjust and get used to it. I’m sure it will seep into my pores along with the Jungle Juice that I have to apply every morning to stave off the mosquitoes that carry malaria and dengue fever.

On the plane, I debated about the Jungle Juice as I was caught between the panic raised by the Travel Clinic and the warnings on the Deet label. I ended up applying some to my exposed skin, and I was certainly glad for it later. Not more than 30 seconds after commenting on the false alarm about mosquitoes attacking immediately after disembarking the plane (part of the Travel Clinic panic), we were swarmed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

